• email
  • hours Mon - Fri : 09:30 am - 06:30 pm

What I Check on a Noise Proof Panels Quote Before Anyone Signs It

A competitor's quote for 860 square meters of noise proof panels arrived with no STC rating, no fire class, and no lab report number anywhere on the sheet. This is the review that followed: real field numbers from a bureau renovation, what composite steel sound proof wall panels cost per square meter, why noise cancelling panels cannot replace insulation, and the one-line standard that kills a bad quote before you sign it.

A noise proof panel is judged by three testable numbers: an STC or Rw rating from an ISO 10140 laboratory report, a fire class under GB 8624, and a stated surface density in kg/m². Any quote sheet missing all three is a price attached to a guess, and it goes back unsigned. That exact sheet reached my desk last Tuesday, a competitor's bid on a bureau renovation, and this piece is the review I wrote into the margin.

The tender covered the interrogation zone of a municipal public security bureau in central China. Eleven rooms. 860 m² of new partitions. The requirement was speech privacy strict enough that nothing said inside one room is intelligible in the next, which in practice means partitions at Rw 52 or better under field conditions.

The Quote Sheet That Started This

The competitor's quote ran four lines in total. Fifty-millimeter acoustic panel, supply and install, $58 per square meter, delivery within thirty days. Not one performance figure anywhere on the page, no brand, no core material, no fire class. A sheet like that can hide anything from a decoupled steel composite to glued egg-crate foam with a thin steel skin, and those two products sit roughly 20 dB apart in laboratory tests.

预生成 — acoustic panel photo

GB 55016-2021 sets a minimum 50 dB of airborne sound insulation for partitions of high-requirement rooms, and interrogation suites are commonly designed 2 to 3 dB above that floor for privacy. A 50mm unnamed panel could land anywhere between Rw 32 and Rw 45 depending on its build, and that spread is the difference between a signed acceptance and a wall that gets torn out at the owner's expense.

What a Partition Actually Has to Do to Stop Speech

Sound Transmission Class, or STC, is a single-number laboratory rating that summarizes how much airborne sound a partition blocks across speech frequencies, measured under ISO 10140. Its field twin, measured on site under ISO 16283, typically reads 3 to 5 dB lower because of flanking paths and imperfect seals. Design for the field number. A lab rating of Rw 54 lands near Rw' 51 in a real room, and every decision downstream should assume that drop.

Mass, damping, and the seal under the door

Doubling the surface mass of a panel adds about 5 dB of insulation, and no marketing claim moves that line. A composite steel noise insulation wall panel earns its numbers from three layers working together: a 0.6mm steel face, a rock wool core at 110 kg/m³ for damping, and a second steel face decoupled from the first. Sealing then decides everything. On a hotel job I measured, a missing door sweep dragged a Rw 52 partition down to Rw 42, and the hardware fix cost $40.

Why noise foam panels are a different product

Absorption and insulation are separate jobs with separate metrics. NRC, the noise reduction coefficient, is the averaged absorption of a material between 250 and 2000 Hz under ISO 354, and the 50mm wedge foam datasheets in my drawer all read NRC 0.70 or so with an STC in the low twenties. Foam tames the echo inside your room. It does nothing for the person on the other side of the wall.

The Bureau Renovation, Room by Room

Our survey team at Sino Acoustic Panels (Export) spent a full day on site with a class 1 sound level meter. The existing 200mm aerated concrete block wall measured Rw' 44 in a field test, and the flanking path ran through the suspended ceiling grid, over the partition tops, straight into the next room. The fix went full height: SPW-75 composite steel noise insulation wall panels, 75mm thick, 48 kg/m², laboratory Rw 54, built slab to slab, with STC 45 acoustic doors and drop seals replacing the hollow steel frames.

Installation is where cheap quotes hide the real work. Joints staggered between rows. Butyl tape at every frame contact. Two continuous beads of acoustic sealant per joint, one per face, tooled smooth before the trim goes on. Eleven rooms took 22 working days, two days per room including door hardware. (Hold the contractor to the original batch fire report at handover; a photo forwarded in a group chat has never cleared a safety inspection.)

Verification came from ISO 16283-1 field tests on completion. Party walls measured Rw' 52 dB, background noise inside the finished rooms held at 31 dB(A) with the HVAC running, and both figures went onto the acceptance sheet with the test engineer's signature. An acceptance sheet with real numbers does more talking than any brochure after everyone goes home.

Where the Money Actually Goes

Composite steel sound proof wall panels run $85 to $120 per square meter supplied and installed at container quantity. A double-plate gypsum system with rock wool runs $55 to $75 but installs about 60 percent slower and turns an occupied building into a dust pit, which matters when the neighboring offices stay open. Inside the budget, materials take roughly 55 cents of every dollar, labor and auxiliary items take about 30, and acoustic doors quietly eat most of what remains. The corners get cut at sealant and edge trim, the two cheapest lines on any sheet.

Frankly, for a home studio I would not spec composite steel at all. 100mm of double gypsum with mineral wool reaches STC 47 for about a third of the cost, and nobody sues over a bedroom wall. The bureau paid for steel because a torn-out government partition costs more than the panel upgrade ever will.

BuildThicknessSurface densityLab STCNRCFire class GB 8624Cost per m² installedDays per room
Double gypsum 2x12mm each side + 50mm rock wool100mm45 kg/m²490.15B1$623.5
SPW-75 composite steel panel75mm48 kg/m²530.30A2$942.0
SPW-100 composite steel panel100mm62 kg/m²580.35A2$1182.0
Competitor's quoted 50mm panel50mmnot statednot testednot statednot stated$58unknown

Can Noise Cancelling Panels Replace Insulation Panels?

No, and the honest manufacturers say so deep in their own datasheets. Active cancellation works in headphones because the controlled volume is a few liters of trapped air; a room radiates sound through a dozen structural paths at once, and no speaker grid chases that in real time. Products marketed as noise cancelling panels for rooms are passive absorbers under a rebranded label, PET or foam boards with NRC between 0.60 and 0.80. They cut the reverberation you hear. They leave the transmission your neighbor hears completely alone.

The sensible split is straightforward. Treat the inside of the room with sound isolation panels or foam where the target is NRC 0.75 or better, and block the path with insulated partitions where the target is STC 50 or better. In most small studio projects I review, the insulation budget went to foam and the wall stayed thin.

Fire, Formaldehyde and the Paperwork That Fails Inspections

Public-building walls in China need a GB 8624 classification, and the bureau specification called for Class A2 on the core with B1 on exposed finishes. Rock wool cores carry A1 non-combustibility naturally, which is why government and hospital jobs lean toward composite steel. Any wooden finish must meet GB 18580 E1 formaldehyde emission. A line on a datasheet saying flame retardant is decoration; the report is the product.

You are the one signing the contract, so demand these two documents before any deposit moves:

  • The GB 8624-2012 fire classification report, with the CMA stamp of the testing body and the report number printed on the page
  • The ISO 10140 acoustic test report matching the exact panel model and thickness written on the quote

At handover it is too late to fix a missing report with money, and I have watched a payment sit in escrow for six weeks over exactly this.

How Long a Real Installation Takes

From deposit to handover on the eleven-room job: site measurement took two days, shop drawings four days, panel production eleven days at container quantity, installation two working days per room. Call it four to five weeks end to end for a project of that size, and hold the contractor to the field test on the first day of handover week. Verification itself needs half a day with a pink noise source and a tapping machine, so there is no schedule excuse for skipping it.

Delays in practice come from two places. Acoustic doors run six to eight weeks from some mills, so doors get ordered on day one of the drawing phase, never after panel delivery. Access windows in occupied buildings do the rest of the damage, and a contractor who has worked in a live government building plans crews around them instead of discovering them at week three.

The Standard I Apply to Every Quote Sheet

One line, no exceptions. If a quote names thickness and price but cannot produce an STC report number and a fire certificate number within 48 hours of being asked, stop the deal where it stands. Every legitimate panel ever sold has been tested, the report numbers exist, and producing them costs the seller nothing at all. Silence on that request is the whole answer.

Thickness comparisons fail for a hard technical reason. Two panels both labeled 50mm can sit 20 dB apart in the laboratory because one is foam-faced board and the other is a decoupled steel composite, and millimeters describe geometry while decibels describe performance. The report number is the bridge between the two, and the seller either holds it or does not.

How much do noise proof panels cost per square meter?

Composite steel noise proof panels run $85 to $120 per square meter supplied and installed at container quantity. Double gypsum systems with rock wool run $55 to $75 and install about 60 percent slower. Noise foam panels cost $15 to $25 per square meter and only treat reverberation, so they are not insulation.

What STC rating do interrogation rooms and private offices need?

GB 55016-2021 requires at least 50 dB airborne sound insulation for partitions of high-requirement rooms, and interrogation suites are usually designed at Rw 52 to 55. Field results run 3 to 5 dB below lab ratings under ISO 16283, so specify laboratory Rw 54 as the entry point to land Rw' 50 on site.

Do noise cancelling panels actually block sound between rooms?

No. Active cancellation is impractical against room-scale structure-borne sound, and products sold as noise cancelling panels are passive absorbers with NRC between 0.60 and 0.80. They reduce reverberation inside the room and leave transmission between rooms untouched, which requires insulated partitions rated STC 50 or higher.

How long does it take to install sound isolation panels in ten rooms?

Plan on four to five weeks end to end: measurement one to two days, shop drawings three to five days, production ten to twelve days at container quantity, installation two days per room. Add half a day for ISO 16283 field verification at handover, which any serious contractor offers without being asked.

Send your drawings, or even a rough phone video of the space, to the engineering desk at Sino Acoustic Panels (Export) at sales@sinoacousticpanels.com, and the quote that comes back will carry the STC report number, the fire certificate number, and the surface density printed on its first page, usually within 48 hours.

This article was generated with AI assistance and reviewed by human editors. Product parameters and certification data are subject to the corresponding test reports.
AI Assistant
Hi! I'm your assistant. How can I help you today?